Upcoming event: How to align with new US data access policies

A Dryad Open House

Please join us Wednesday, November 30 to explore how Dryad can help researchers, institutions and publishing organizations meet the requirements of new policies for open access to research data. 

The White House is the latest to recommend open access to the data underpinning federally funded research, with the release of a recent memo from the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). The recommendations for public access to research and data have long been in the works, and strongly align with the policy for data management and sharing announced earlier by the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). The NIH policy takes effect in January 2023, while the US agencies affected by the OSTP recommendations have a few more years. 

Simply posting data to the Internet isn’t enough to meet emerging standards. 

The 2021 “Guide to Accelerate Public Access to Research Data”, from the Association of American Universities and Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, says: 

“Federal agencies now see transparent sharing of well-documented data as central to addressing issues of research integrity. Transparency enables others to understand the context (goals), process (methods), and products (article, data, code, etc.), and to evaluate the quality, relevance, and limitations of research for the specific question being investigated.”

The NIH final policy (NOT-OD-21-013) emphasizes that “Data should be of sufficient quality to validate and replicate research findings”.

Dryad’s data curation and publishing process, online since 2008 and continuously improved since, can help researchers, institutions and publishing organizations satisfy new requirements readily and easily. Please join us to learn how. 

Our next Open House is on Wednesday, November 30, 2022.

Register here to join at 6:00 AM PST / 9:00 AM EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 7:30 PM IST 

Register here to join at 10:00 AM PST / 1:00 PM EST / 6:00 PM GMT / 11:30 PM IST 

For additional times, please see https://www.timeanddate.com/time/map 

—————-

To keep in touch with the latest updates from Dryad, follow us on Twitter, Facebook or LinkedIn.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s